The Power & The Majesty


This product is currently sold out.

Track Listing

1. Verdi: Dies irae from Requiem 2:28
2. Verdi: Tuba Mirum from Requiem 1:59
3. Durufle: Pie Jesu from Requiem, Op. 9 3:50
4. Orff: O Fortuna from Carmina burana 5:18
5. Mozart: Dies irae from Requiem, K. 626 1:57
6. Mozart: Rex tremendae from Requiem, K. 626 2:13
7. Mozart: Confutatis from Requiem, K. 626 2:30
8. Mozart: Lacrimosa from Requiem, K. 626 3:27
9. Borodin: Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor 11:44
10. Bach: Missa: Kyrie eleison from Mass in B minor 4:28
11. Handel: Hallelujah Chorus from Messiah 3:44
12. Berlioz: The Shepherds' Farewell from L'enfance du Christ 3:29
13. Faure: Sanctus from Requiem, Op. 48 3:30
14. Haydn: The Creation: The Heavens are Telling 4:02
15. Verdi: "Va, pensiero" (Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves) from Nabucco 5:10
16. Rachmaninoff: Nyne Otpushchayeshi (Now let Thy Servant Depart) from Vespers 4:05
17. Berlioz: Dies irae from Requiem, Op. 5 12:16

  • A stunning collection of celebrated and cherished vocal music interpreted by the master of choral music, Robert Shaw. The grand sound of Atlanta's choruses and orchestra along with the Shaw Festival Singers lend themselves well to the spectacular imagery of the Latin Requiem Mass with its medieval depiction of the cataclysmic Day of Judgment. The selections on this disc from the operatic masterpieces of Mozart, Berlioz and Verdi are portrayed with enormous power and pathos. Equally inspired are Shaw's renditions of sacred music of praise -- depicting the hosts of Heaven and Earth raising their voices together to laud their creator.


    Share this

    Pin Post Plus

    Similar Products