Angels on High


This product is currently sold out.

 Track Listing

1. O Come, Emmanuel 2:47
2. Thompson: Alleluia 4:54
3. The First Nowell 1:42
4. The Carol Of The Birds 4:03
5. Allon, Gay Bergeres 1:41
6. A Hymn To The Virgin 3:34
7. Lauridsen: O Magnum Mysterium 6:19
8. Rejoice And Sing, From "Christmas Oratorio"
9. Ave Maria 5:24
10. What Is This Lovely Fragrance? 3:44
11. Lo, How A Rose E'er Blooming 1:14
12. Sing Lullaby 3:02
13. While By My Sheep 1:27
14. Break Forth, O Wondrous Heavenly Light, from "Christmas Oratorio" 1:09
15. Heavenly Light 3:00
16. Adeste Fideles 3:55
17. Ceremony of Carols: Procession 1:20
18. Ceremony of Carols: Wolcum Yole! 1:18
19. Ceremony of Carols: There Is No Rose 2:30
20. Ceremony of Carols: That Younge Child 1:56
21. Ceremony of Carols: Balulalow 1:34
22. Ceremony of Carols: As Dew in Aprille
23. Ceremony of Carols: This Little Babe 1:25
24. Ceremony of Carols: Interlude 3:21
25. Ceremony of Carols: In Freezing Winter Nights 3:56
26. Ceremony of Carols: Spring Carol 1:11
27. Ceremony of Carols: Deo gracias 1:07
28. Ceremony of Carols: Recession 1:28


  • A captivating and unusual holiday disc mixes classic Shaw/Parker choral arrangements with ravishing carols by outstanding British and American composers.
  • In 1995, Telarc released Songs of Angels (CD-80377), a recording of Christmas hymns and carols in arrangements by Robert Shaw and Alice Parker for a cappella voices. Angels on High features the Robert Shaw Chamber Singers, a chorus of 46 singers, conducted by Shaw in a program of holiday music ranging from Benjamin Britten’s well-loved Ceremony of Carols to contemporary pieces by American composers Randall Thompson and Morten Lauridsen.

    Included on the disc are Thompson’s ethereal “Alleluia;” “Sing Lullaby” by Herbert Howells; Lauridsen’s “O Magnum Mysterium;” and Healey Willan’s “What Is This Lovely Fragrance?” Harpist Elisabeth Remy, principal harpist with the Atlanta Symphony is featured in the Britten. Organist Norman Mackenzie is also featured in a solo performance of Brahms’ delicate organ arrangement of “Lo, How a Rose.”

    Share this

    Pin Post Plus

    Similar Products